First signs of food allergies

Looking back, I can (now) tell that my son had food allergies as a baby.  I just didn’t know at the time that they were allergies.  When he first had avocado at about 6 months, he got a red rash in his face (kind of like patches of red all over his mouth and covering his cheeks). I suspected it could be an allergy, but I tend to be hypochondriac so I’ve learned to not trust my own judgement when it comes to being overly anxious about health issues.

I also remember him reacting to hummus (chickpeas) once where he projectile vomited.  We just thought his belly wasn’t feeling well.

Another time, his babysitter told me he got a rash all over his face after eating green peas.  We didn’t think much of it.

Another time, he got that same rash after eating red lentils for the first time.

Each of these times, we disregarded that the reactions could be food allergies.  Of course, I feel bad about that now.  Not that we could have done anything about it, I mean, we DID request a referral to an allergist after he reacted to peanut butter when he was 10 months old, because we knew peanuts are a common allergen.  And we DID request more testing after he had a  more serious reaction (respiratory distress) after eating a nectarine last fall.

We only pieced EVERYTHING together two weeks ago once the allergy tests came back showing multiple food allergies.  The news has been sinking in.  I tend to feel quite anxious when my children have a simple cold, so I’m just not sure how I should feel about this.  Now I can’t eat one meal without thinking “is there going to be an allergen hidden in there?  Where’s the Epipen?”  I try to look calm so my son doesn’t feel scared, but I’m watching him like a hawk as soon as food touches his lips.

See this article to find out how you can tell if your baby is having an allergic reaction.

I’ll finish this post by saying that one of the reason we didn’t figure out that my son had multiple food allergies is because most of his allergens don’t fall in the “8 most common allergen foods”.  His food allergies are peanut, tree nuts – those are common – but also chickpeas, lentils, green peas, some pitted fruit (nectarine only has been confirmed) which are not common.  We still need to “test” certain fruit, like avocado, peaches, pears, mangoes and other pitted fruit.  He regularly eats apples, bananas, citrus fruit, kiwis, berries no problem.

StockSnap_JI8T56JLBN

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

